Anythink Libraries Receives Nation’s Highest Award for Community Service

Anythink Receives National Medal for Exceptional Library Service

Rangeview Library District and its Anythink libraries are the recipients of the 2010 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor for museums and libraries. The annual award, made by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) since 1994, recognizes institutions for outstanding social, educational, environmental, or economic contributions to their communities. Anythink will receive the National Medal in a ceremony held later in Washington, D.C. The district will also receive a $10,000 award in recognition of their extraordinary contributions and a visit from StoryCorps.

Award funds will go towards the district’s collaborative public art project, “This is Who We Are,” which partners local installation artists with library customers to create permanent art pieces for the district’s seven libraries.

“Never underestimate the power of a talented group of people who set out to achieve a heroic goal,” says Anythink library director Pam Sandlian Smith. “The tenacity, creativity and dedication of the Rangeview Library Board, staff, design team and community partners have proven that anything is possible. This acknowledgement from the IMLS is like sailing around the world or climbing K2 – it is a remarkable honor and accomplishment for our community.”

“I am proud to have nominated the Rangeview Library District for the National Medal for Library Service because of the extraordinary success it has achieved with its innovative ‘Anythink’ approach to community service,” says U.S. Representative Jared Polis (CO-02). “The library district has revolutionized its operations in nearly every way, making it easier to use, empowering its staff, and establishing dynamic activities for users of all ages, and the results have been phenomenal. I commend IMLS for recognizing this outstanding community resource.”

In addition to Rangeview Library District, other recipients of the 2010 National Medal for Museum and Library Service are:

  • Conner Prairie Interactive History Park, Fishers, Ind.
  • Explora Science Center & Children’s Museum of Albuquerque, Albuquerque, N.M.
  • Mississippi Museum of Art, Jackson, Miss.
  • Japanese American National Museum, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • The New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, N.Y.
  • Peter White Public Library, Marquette, Mich.
  • West Bloomfield Township Public Library, West Bloomfield, Mich.
  • Patchogue-Medford Library, Patchogue, N.Y.
  • Nashville Public Library, Nashville, Tenn.

Any individual may nominate a museum and/or library in the United States and its territories for the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. Members of the National Museum and Library Services Board, the Institute’s presidentially appointed policy advisory board, review the nominations and make recommendations to the Institute Director who selects the winners.  To view nomination information, please go to The deadline for 2011 nominations is February 15, 2011.

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation's 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The Institute’s mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people to information and ideas. The Institute works at the national level and in coordination with state and local organizations to sustain heritage, culture, and knowledge; enhance learning and innovation; and support professional development. To learn more about the Institute, please visit